Published on January 09, 2019

Laura Czerkies Appointed to Silver Cross Foundation Board of Directors

The Silver Cross Foundation announces the recent appointment of Laura Czerkies to its Board of Directors.

“We are delighted that Laura has chosen to honor her family’s long history with Silver Cross by joining our Foundation Board of Directors,” said Tracy Simons, Executive Director of the Silver Cross Foundation. “Through her guidance, Silver Cross Hospital will continue to bring new services and enhanced expertise to the residents of Will County and beyond.” 

A Lockport native, Laura Czerkies was born at Silver Cross Hospital to Drs. Bill (General Practice) and Lu (Pediatrics) Milo, dedicated physicians who served on the Silver Cross Medical Staff for more than 35 years. She is also the daughter-in-law of the late Ed Czerkies, 2018 Silver Cross Sangmeister Medal of Excellence Recipient, accomplished businessman and philanthropist. 

As the Manager of the Clinical Sciences Group with Nestle Nutrition, Czerkies is responsible for the management of clinical trials on Nestle tube feeding and infant formulas; publication of scientific articles related to Nestle’s products and services; and scientific substantiation behind the products and services. 

A graduate of Joliet Catholic Academy, Czerkies went on to earn a Bachelor of Science degree in Food and Human Nutrition and a master’s degree in Nutritional Science from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (U of I). She is a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics and previously served as Treasurer of Holy Family School’s Home and School Organization and also U of I’s Nutritional Sciences Graduate Student Association. In addition, Czerkies is a Jonathon Baldwin Turner Fellow and scholarship recipient. 

She currently resides on the west side of Joliet with her husband, Scott, President of Czerkies Design, an architectural firm, and their four children.  

Czerkies joins the other 16 members of the Silver Cross Foundation Board of Directors.  They are Dorothy Brown (Secretary), Ruth Colby, Carolyn Dystrup, Mona Goeken, Judy Hageman, (Treasurer), Stacy Holland, Mike Jarigese, Lynn Lichtenaurer, Craig Lyons, Kathy Miller, John Olivieri, Jim Pitcairn, Val Rand, Tracy Simons, Mark Stevens (Chairperson), and Michele Vana. 

The Silver Cross Foundation Board of Directors exists to develop all forms of philanthropic support for the healthcare programs and services provided by Silver Cross Hospital.  To assist Silver Cross Hospital in its initiative to continue to bring quality healthcare services close to home, make a donation online at or call the Silver Cross Foundation at (815) 300-7105.

Physicians on Silver Cross Hospital’s Medical Staff have expertise in their areas of practice to meet the needs of patients seeking their care. These physicians are independent practitioners on the Medical Staff and are not the agents or employees of Silver Cross Hospital. They treat patients based upon their independent medical judgment and they bill patients separately for their services.